Author Topic: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections  (Read 432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Maria Regina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Reputation: +334/-80
  • Gender: Female
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • In a recent email sent:

    Homeschools Protected From Inspections
    JOINT LEGISLATIVE NEWSFLASH – November 8, 2017
     
    From: Mike Smith -- HSLDA and Roy Hanson and Nathan Pierce -- Family Protection Ministries

     All Private Homeschools Protected From Mandatory Inspections

     
    A Very Encouraging Victory!

     Early versions of AB 10 would have required agents of the California Department of Education (CDE) to inspect all bathrooms in homes where private homeschooling takes place to ensure that all female students have access to state mandated feminine hygiene products. This would have set a dangerous precedent by requiring families to be questioned and observed, through the inspection process, inside the constitutionally
     protected privacy of their homes. During these inspections, agents of the CDE would have been required to walk through the homes of every private homeschooling family in California. This would open the opportunity for making observations and developing concerns unrelated to the immediate requirements of this bill. These CDE agents could then report their concerns, resulting from these observations, to their supervisors and to
     their County Offices of Education. Regulations governing operating procedures, regulatory standards, and further details would have inevitably followed this bill.
     
     From AB 10 - 12/5/16

     
    "The department [CA Dept. of Education] ... shall ensure that female pupils have direct access to feminine hygiene products in school bathrooms."

     These inspections would be a clear violation of our right to privacy that is protected by the 4th Amendment to the US Constitution. Our founders fought dearly to protect this right and it is an essential pillar upon which our nation was founded.

    See https://www.hslda.org/docs/nche/000000/00000072.asp for more information.
    Lord have mercy.

    Offline Marlelar

    • Sr. Member
    • ****
    • Posts: 3475
    • Reputation: +1806/-222
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 11:33:41 AM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Holy Smokes!  Big brother sure is searching for any way to spy on the populace. 

    I find it bizarre that the state felt it necessary to mandate that supplies for girls had to be in every bathroom. Are they free too? 

    It wasn't that way when I was in school, but if need be there were always teachers who had emergency supplies. 


    Offline Maria Regina

    • Full Member
    • ***
    • Posts: 1324
    • Reputation: +334/-80
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #2 on: November 10, 2017, 02:13:00 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Holy Smokes!  Big brother sure is searching for any way to spy on the populace.

    I find it bizarre that the state felt it necessary to mandate that supplies for girls had to be in every bathroom. Are they free too?

    It wasn't that way when I was in school, but if need be there were always teachers who had emergency supplies.
    I wonder if a condom dispenser is mandated for public high schools in addition to feminine napkins?

    I recall seeing both of those in my high school. Most of the time, those dispensers remained empty, and girls who needed napkins were forced to see the counselor or visit the high school coach who always had a supply.

    Perhaps that is why inspections are now mandated.
    Lord have mercy.

    Offline Nadir

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 5007
    • Reputation: +2785/-94
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #3 on: November 10, 2017, 02:30:33 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Aren't we talking about homes as opposed to public schools? Can the government mandate this for private bathrooms? what about pre-pubertal girls?

    required agents of the California Department of Education (CDE) to inspect all bathrooms in homes where private homeschooling takes place to ensure that all female students have access to state mandated feminine hygiene products.

    Offline Marlelar

    • Sr. Member
    • ****
    • Posts: 3475
    • Reputation: +1806/-222
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #4 on: November 10, 2017, 04:18:29 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • They are probably thinking that if public schools must have them, then home "schools" must also.  Twisted logic.  But CA is very UN-friendly for homeschooling, probably more like anti-homeschooling.  

    Too many governments think that kids belong to them and must monitor their guardians (aka parents) to make sure they are raising them up to be good little government drones. Various local, state, and federal agencies in the US are increasingly usurping parental rights. 


    Offline Nadir

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 5007
    • Reputation: +2785/-94
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #5 on: November 11, 2017, 12:55:00 AM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Yes, and too many parents play right into the hands of these dictators.

    Yes, I know they say they will take your children away if you don't "co-operate" with them. And it may well happen from time to time.

    As a matter of principle my husband and I refused to  register our children. Our two eldest went to school for under two and three years respectively, then one day we simply did not send them. The law in Queensland where we were living required the principal to inform the police if the children were missing from school for a certain time. One day we were out and on our return our children observed the wheel tracks of a 4 wheel drive vehicle and we wondered who it was. We found out when we had another visit form the police. I happened to be away that day, though hubby and children were home.

    The next day I phoned the police and informed that we decided to keep our children at home for their education. The police said OK, and that was the end of it. I guess they thought we were reasonable law abiding citizens.

    The law also said you had to be a qualified teacher, or be supervised by a qualified teacher. Neither applied to either my husband or myself.

    As Charles Dickens tells us: “the law is a ass—a idiot. All the time we homeschooled we were illegal, but our children got a decent education, and will homeschool their children.

    Offline Maria Regina

    • Full Member
    • ***
    • Posts: 1324
    • Reputation: +334/-80
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #6 on: November 11, 2017, 01:27:33 AM »
  • Thanks!1
  • No Thanks!0
  • I homeschooled my son who was enrolled in a Catholic homeschooling private school registered with the State of California.

    We had to file an affidavit with California for every year that we homeschooled.

    We were also enrolled with HSLDA for legal protection.

    Thankfully, we were never contacted by the police or the dreaded and corrupt CPS.
    Lord have mercy.

    Offline Nadir

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 5007
    • Reputation: +2785/-94
    • Gender: Female
    Re: Victory in California for Home Schoolers - no mandated inspections
    « Reply #7 on: November 11, 2017, 04:18:17 AM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • At that time, and in this part of the world, I would have much preferred to deal with police than education officials.


     

    Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16