Author Topic: Gelatin  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Änσnymσus

  • Guest
Gelatin
« on: January 09, 2013, 03:57:43 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Is gelatin allowed in days of abstinence?

    Änσnymσus

    • Guest
    Gelatin
    « Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 01:12:51 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • No one?

    I've gotta take either gelatin or bone broth, for therapeutic use. Bone broth is not proper in days of abstinence, so I have to think whether gelatin can be taken.


    Änσnymσus

    • Guest
    Gelatin
    « Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 01:50:44 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • If you're talking about something like Jello brand gelatin, I looked at the ingredients.  It does not appear to contain any meat or meat products so it would be appropriate to eat on days of abstinence.

    Änσnymσus

    • Guest
    Gelatin
    « Reply #3 on: January 10, 2013, 02:08:02 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Quote from: Guest
    If you're talking about something like Jello brand gelatin, I looked at the ingredients.  It does not appear to contain any meat or meat products so it would be appropriate to eat on days of abstinence.


    Yes, I meant something similar to Jello. I'm concerned because gelatin itself is extracted from animal skim, bones, tissues etc. Some gelatin brands even bear the name "beef" (in case it's extracted from bovine).

    Änσnymσus

    • Guest
    Gelatin
    « Reply #4 on: January 10, 2013, 03:45:37 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • Somehow, I doubt that modern Jello has anything natural in it at all.  But if you have doubts, perhaps you should talk to your confessor or to a chemist.


    Änσnymσus

    • Guest
    Gelatin
    « Reply #5 on: January 10, 2013, 03:48:44 PM »
  • Thanks!0
  • No Thanks!0
  • LOL!  We've had this argument before at my place.  We don't eat gelatin though.  I wonder if it's acceptable, since when you drink milk, you are also consuming cells from the cow, and cheese is made with rennet, which is made from part of the ruminant stomach.  I don't know.  Ask a priest- I think that would be your best bet.


     

    Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16